The department was established in 1998 with fifteen intake capacity. The honours course started in the year 2000. At present, the intake capacity is forty for honours course and 60 for general course. The faculty serving the department at present are Dr. Sribash Tikader (HOD), Prof. Sarmistha Saha, Prof. Sumana Dey Sarkar, and Prof. Sumana Pal. The success rate is quite remarkable where 100% of students qualified in the final year of the academic session 2015-2016. There has been a consistency of university ranking from this department. All the teachers participate in the academic and personal counselling of the students. The department organizes two field tours each year and also arranges for the geographical excursion. The department has established laboratories, soil testing zone, cartography, and RS-GIS laboratory (A.C.). Most of the ex-students are placed as faculties in different Govt., private schools, colleges and other sectors.

Department Contact Info

Head of the Department
Dr. Sribash Tikader

SL.No. Name Designation
1 Dr. Sribash Tikader Assistant Professor (H.O.D.)
2 Sarmistha Saha Assistant Professor
3 Sumana Dey Sarkar State Aided College Teacher – I
4 Sumana Pal State Aided College Teacher – I
SL.No. Course Name Duration Seats
1 B.A. Hons in Geography 3 Years 65
2 B.A. Program in Geography 3 Years
Date Title About More Details
Not Found